sarproz-group

Reference point selection

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      paul
      Participant

A question about choosing reference point:

The image below is the study (urban) area (central Florida) which features with buildings. My question is about choosing reference point. I studied the online material which says integrated residual height and velocity are supposed to be peak at 0 value. However, there might be that majority of PS are on the roof/structure. In this case, does the rule to choose the reference point (velocity peak at 0 and residual height peak at 0) still works?

I also attached the histograms according to the reference point I have chosen.

Attachments:
        You must be logged in to view attached files.
        periz
        Keymaster

first of all,
          velocity and residual height are two different parameters belonging to two different physical characteristics, very different from each other and usually not correlated.
          then, even if the majority of radar reflections would be higher than the ground level, still, reflections would be at different height values. Unless you are in an are where all constructions have the same shape and orientation and all of them are equipped with the same reflecting features at the same height. Pretty unlikely.
          So, I’d say that in 99% of cases, if there is a clear peak in the height distribution, that peak is at ground level. in your case the peak is visible and it is at about -5m, showing that the reference point is on a roof, at about 5m.
          best

paul
          Participant

Thank you so much for the suggestion.